Are you thinking about getting ISO 45001 certified? Do you need to know the ISO 45001 requirements to apply for certification? This blog has all you need to know about the most recent ISO 45001 requirements, including monitoring, paperwork, and records.

Introduction to ISO 45001

The new occupational health and safety management system standard ISO 45001 has been published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) in October 2017. It is one of the 10 International Standards developed to strengthen OHSMS performance with a worldwide scope across all sectors. It provides a framework for designing an effective health and safety management system that will enable an organization to systematically manage its obligations related to workers’ health, safety, and well-being.

What is the Purpose of ISO 45001 Requirements?

ISO 45001 requirements are designed to help organizations prevent accidents, injuries, and ill health associated with work. ISO 45001 requires organizations to do the following:

  • To set up an occupational health and safety management system that will ensure they identify and manage the OHSMS risks to which they are exposed.
  • To identify hazards at your workplace, assess the associated risks, and implement conventional or innovative actions to minimize any negative impact on workers’ health and safety.
  • ISO 45001 also includes a requirement for organizations to define responsibilities within their management system.

Who Needs ISO 45001 Requirements?

ISO 45001 Requirements are useful for all organizations irrespective of the nature or size of their enterprises. ISO 45001 applies to all organizations that have workers, who are exposed to hazards at the workplace. ISO 45001 Requirements also include other key stakeholders like contractors, visitors, and other third parties that may affect or be affected by work activities.

ISO 45001 requirements set out the actions to be taken by all key stakeholders involved in the management system. ISO 45001 requirements are designed to help them meet their legal obligations related to OHSMS and reduce risk exposure at the workplace.

What are the ISO 45001 Requirements?

You must preserve written documentation of all methods, processes, and services to meet ISO 45001 requirements. The ISO 45001 standard emphasizes the need of reviewing QMS activities to see what’s working and where improvements might be made. This is a part of your company’s growth and development of new capabilities that improve the company’s supply chain function. As per ISO 45001 requirements, collecting, organizing, and maintaining the numerous quality records you generate is critical since these documents are important in establishing your company’s credibility.

ISO 45001 Requirements for Certification

It’s time to employ a certifying body to achieve ISO 45001 certification after your firm has fully documented all ISO 45001 standards as per ISO 45001 requirements. To ensure that your firm satisfies all ISO 45001 requirements, the certification authority will analyze your documentation and conduct external audits. There are two steps to the audit:

Preliminary Audit (Stage 1)

The certification body will conduct an initial audit in accordance with ISO 45001 requirements to determine the following:

  • A review of the paperwork for your ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management System, including the scope, objectives, and any policies or documents that support the system’s functioning.
  • A tour of the site to aid with the planning of Stage 2.
  • To become familiar with all of the company’s operating sites.
  • To gain knowledge of critical processes, methods, and any equipment used.
  • Determine whether all necessary people are prepared for the Stage 2 Audit by confirming that the organization’s legislative and regulatory needs are documented.
  • To determine if internal audits and management reviews were completed in accordance with ISO 45001 criteria.

Implementation Audit (Stage 2)

The certifying authority will conduct another audit once your firm has completed the first external audit in accordance with ISO 45001 requirements to ensure that all non-conformities have been remedied. During the Stage 2 audit, the following ISO 45001 requirements will be assessed:

  • To confirm that all progress requests have been fulfilled, review the activities taken in response to the Stage 1 ISO 45001 Audit.
  • To inspect documentation to ensure that they meet the ISO 45001 criteria.
  • The overall effectiveness of your management system in terms of ISO 45001 requirements, as well as whether or not it is assisting you in meeting your company’s goals.
  • Verify that you have operational control and are following ISO 45001 requirements by auditing your actions and processes.
  • The results of internal audits and management appraisals are scrutinized.
  • Efficacy of preventative and remedial measures

You will receive ISO 45001 certification if the auditor verifies that your organization has met all of the ISO 45001 requirements.

How Long will my ISO 45001 Certificate be Valid For?

If your organization meets all of the ISO 45001 requirements, the certifying authority will usually provide ISO 45001 certification for a three-year period. There are several audits that will be conducted after your receive certification, as per ISO 45001 requirements. These audits are discussed below:

Surveillance Audits

These audits will be conducted on a regular basis in the interim between certification and re-certification audits and will focus on ensuring that your firm complies with ISO 45001 requirements. Typically two surveillance audits are conducted at the end of every 12 months during the 3-year validity term of certification. The purpose of the surveillance audit is to verify that your organization continues to implement ISO 45001 requirements throughout the validity period of your certification.

Audits for Re-Certification

A re-certification audit will be conducted prior to the end of the certification period. Re-certification audits are equivalent to the ISO 45001 Stage 2 Audit and are more thorough than surveillance audits. As per ISO 45001 requirements, it is beneficial for you to keep all ISO records related to your ISO 45001 registration for a minimum of 3 years after the ISO certificate expires.

Benefits of Meeting ISO 45001 Requirements

You will earn ISO 45001 certification by meeting ISO 45001 requirements and satisfying ISO 45001 regulations. Your organization will enjoy many benefits, such as:

  • Demonstrate a preference for ISO 45001 compliant services and products.
  • Differentiate yourself from your competition when ISO 45001 requirements are met.
  • Display ISO 45001certification to potential customers and clients.
  • Demonstrate you are maintaining ISO safety standards.
  • Establish a sound platform for process improvement with ISO 45001 compliance.

For more information on ISO 45001 requirements, contact us at [email protected]